Thursday, May 17, 2012

The Nameless Dwarf Ominbus by D.P. Prior review

The Nameless Dwarf Omnibus contains the first three books of the highly acclaimed Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf:

The Ant-Man of Malfen
The Axe of the Dwarf Lords
The Scout and the Serpent

Following the massacre of the dwarves in their ravine city, the Nameless Dwarf pursues the survivors to the brigand town of Malfen, where he learns they have crossed the mountains into the lands of nightmare. His only intention is to save his people from extinction, but he's the last person they'd want to find them.

4.5 stars

The Nameless Dwarf Omnibus contains the first three stories following the dwarf known only as Nameless.  If you have read some of Derek's other work than you may be familiar with him as he has been a companion of Shadrak the Unseen and Deacon Shader.  

The book starts out with Nameless being a very mysterious figure who has hired a boy from the Night Hawks (a criminal group) to help him find information on where his people have fled to.  Nils, his companion, is the son of the leader of the guild out to prove his worth as a man.  During the journey they meet up with Silas, a magic user, who is studying the stolen grimoire of the Liche Lord Otto Blightey.  At the end of Ant-Man Ilesa joins up with the group as well.  She is a woman who seems to have some level of skill with shapeshifting/illusion magic.  As the stories progress the characters true natures are revealed as their stories are unraveled.  Derek has done a wonderful job keeping the main story on point while gradually revealing the backgrounds of all the people involved.  

The book starts out with a lot of information and someone who is unfamiliar with the world Derek has created might struggle a bit at first.  As the book progresses everything comes together beautifully and by the end I didn't want to stop reading for any reason.   I will also be checking out the next story in the series, The Ebon Staff as soon as possible to see what will happen.

For more information on the book series check out the Amazon listing or the author's blog.

No comments:

Post a Comment